Asante Sana Compassion Kenya

Last Saturday, I returned from an Elim leaders’ trip to visit the work of Compassion in Kenya; I’ve journaled my experience and thoughts to ensure this moment doesn’t pass me by and disappear as the grass fades when the rainy season ends.

I wouldn’t usually publish such thoughts, but the trip has had the most significant impact on me of any trip I have taken. I’ve needed a few days to catch up with Sophie, Lily, and Judah, sleep, exercise, process everything in my mind, and ask God what is next.

Before The Trip

When Mike called me and asked if I would consider coming on this trip, my first reaction was uncertainty. As a church, we had been managing steady growth over the last year and were in the middle of the work to launch a trial of two services on the 14th of April, a date chosen in the Autumn. The date of the trip was the 15th of April. I knew we would have a busy Easter and post-Easter, which didn’t fit my schedule.

I was also nervous about how it would affect Sophie, Lily & Judah. I hadn’t taken such a trip since before Covid. I knew it would mean Sophie would start the term back without me around to help, and there would be an emotional effect on them all.

I wasn’t closely connected with Compassion, although I knew of them and their work. Mike and I had coffee and talked about their work. While I was aware, I was also connected with other mission projects.

So, was this God’s nudge?

As I prayed on the day of the call, talked with Sophie and then Alex, and emailed my elders for their thoughts, I felt this was a God-nudge. There was a whisper of the Spirit to go and not miss this.

And I am so grateful I didn’t miss it.

Kenya

Kenya is a beautiful country. We arrived in the rainy season, and it felt as green as Ireland. There is deep orange soil. Unique white flowers (apparently weeds). An expansive sky. The sun is intense, not so great on pasty Irish skin that hasn’t seen the sun for 6 months. But even more beautiful than the land are the people that live there. People with a joyful smile are the most welcoming & hospitable people. A generosity of heart & culture that is more vibrant than the colours that surrounded us.

On my first trip to this nation, something of my heart was left there. I had an urge to take some of the soil home with me, but I have taken so much more back.

There is something more profound & richer than these words can describe about this nation, its people & the church there. There is a reflection of God’s beauty in creation that shines through despite the pain & scaring that sin wrought on His creation.

The world is a broken, hard, painful place, but there is so much beauty, joy, and vibrancy to be discovered.

Since returning the country & city of Nairobi have been hit hard with heavy rains & flood. And this has had an impact on some of the projects & participants. Please pray for the safety of lives in the nation, for the government & civil servants seeking to protect life & in the aftermath of the floods. And pray for Compassion & the church in this beautiful nation.

Compassion

“Releasing children from poverty in Jesus’ name.” Mission statements, slogans, and branding aren’t worth much if they don’t match what happens. I am left astounded at the work of Compassion. This organisational and leadership structure ensures it works and, most importantly, the heart of the people who work to make this mission a reality.

As a church, we have been preaching through Ephesians. The heart of the gospel is that God chooses to bless us by adopting us as His sons in the Beloved Son. Jesus entered our dwelling, our world, to deal with the poverty of sin, freeing us to be His and uniting heaven and earth through Himself. We experience this by the Holy Spirit, who seals and guarantees this in us.

Compassion demonstrates this gospel in their work in a practical way. As the participants are chosen, the work begins instantly to bring about transformation in their lives in partnership with the church so that they in their lives, experience the love & gospel of Christ through the round program that includes education, social activity, nutrition, life support and the discipleship of the church.

At each Child development centre, intervention, or project, I could see the participants were loved, their dignity was paramount, their value was upheld, and their systems were in place to guard and protect. There was a synergy between Compassion and the church that wanted each local church to flourish and take the lead.

I could see the joy in the participants, caregivers, directors, committee members, and the local church. There was joy in their welcome and play. In the home visits, the overriding sense I got was hope—hope that their future would be different. The visibility of hope was realised in the testimony of those who graduated.

There was a richness of joy & happiness in the children I encountered. Whether when playing football, showing how to play baseball, or having fun with kids on a roundabout (hoping they didn’t fall off) in a Masai area of the Kajiado county,  holding tiny babies, talking with mums & visiting a family in the Machakos county or visit a school and then a slum, and play simply games like rock, paper scissors, or pat-a-cake or just giving a gentle hug. There was something exchanged beyond language. There was delight in the wide eyes, the curiosity of touch and the smile of thanks.

Observing the church in action, its pastors, project directors, committee members, and caregivers working together & sharing a gospel heart was extraordinary. The declaration at each introduction, “I am born again”, emphasised their devotion to the gospel.

Added to this was the worship & presentations that varied so much but displayed the richness of this wonderful place.

In Ephesians, Paul prays for the church’s heads, hearts, and hands. For their heads, that their understanding of God would deepen. Their hearts would be open, their affection would grow, and they would experience the strength of God in their hands as they work. I have seen that in the church in Kenya, and it’s inspiring.

Our Compassion Kenya hosts Yvonne & Kenn became one of us. They educated, explained, gave direction & answered questions, all part of their role. But they did more. They embraced us, & our curious ways. They discovered our British humour & what it means to take the mickey. They ate with us, found out what Irish stew & what Irish potato isn’t, and joined in our laughter, and I hope you saw our fun & our sisterly & brotherly love. It felt like they became part of our team, part of who we were, as a sister & brother in Christ. That is the glorious kingdom & family of God.

Both Yvonne and Kenn displayed such love, gentleness, faithfulness, and kindness. And yet, they sacrificed as well. During our trip, a member of the compassion team had a sudden death. There was palpable grief. The memorial was on Wednesday afternoon, but Yvonne and Kenn sacrificed their opportunity to grieve with the Compassion family to be with us. May God continue to comfort them and the wider staff.

On that Wednesday, we still met with the national leaders of Compassion. In their grief, they still poured out their hearts, shared their vision, and answered our questions. And the blend of wisdom and passion is evident in all they do,

I am particularly struck by the five cultural statements that are around the impressive HQ:

1. HERE FOR A REASON — THE MISSION We hold ourselves and others accountable for results because children’s lives are at risk.

2. SERIOUS ABOUT PERSONAL GROWTH — OURS AND OTHERS We commit to our own development, humbly seek feedback and help others grow. EPHESIANS 4:16

3.100% FOR ONE ANOTHER We seek the best in others — even when it’s hard — and see conflict as a step toward transformation. PHILIPPIANS 2:4

4. CAREFUL WITH OUR WORDS We have open, honest conversations — even on difficult topics — because we care about each other and the mission. EPHESIANS 4:29

5. INVITE OTHERS IN We build trusting connections and work with others across the ministry to achieve desired results. PROVERBS 15:22

Seeing the leadership turmoil in so much of the Western church is difficult. But seeing their teams & talking with their leaders, this felt healthy, open, and a welcome encouragement to me. 

Our Elim Team

You never quite know how a team will function before a trip. Some on the trip, like Alex, who is like a brother to me, or Malcolm, who is an inspiring model of theological & pastoral leadership, I knew well.

I already knew Mike, Michelle, Jamie, and John, and I was looking forward to spending time with them and getting to know them better.

I didn’t know others like Stewart, Shirene, Ore, Lloyd, Aaron & Anna, and Jacob so well, and some I would be meeting for the first time. There was a mixture of excitement and anxiety.

Because I know my personality. While I can be a thinker, I can be black and white in my perspectives, lean introverted in my approach, and take a serious approach when necessary. I am also mischievous, use humour, and wind up a little the opposite of serious in many areas. And that isn’t everyone’s cup of tea. I am aware that can be annoying to some.

But as the group came together, it quickly felt like our Elim tribe, a family that embraced the mission, honoured each other, had fun, laughed a lot, worked together, supported each other, played to our strengths, and helped in hardships.

I don’t think I have ever been on such a team, and I suspect it has spoiled me for the future. But I have loved the five days with these sisters and brothers. They became more than colleagues; this felt like family. A family that knew when to laugh, cry, pray, or wrap an arm around each other. A family trip that has left a deep mark, like a tattoo.

As we waited for our bags in Heathrow, I knew the time was over. There was a sadness as I travelled back on the train properly alone for the first time in a week. A sadness that we may never have it again like this. But this was not a sadness of pain or sorrow. It felt more like a sadness of longing for eternity when there is no end to the bond. That is the eternal longing God has put in our hearts.

For now, the moment is over, but the effect on me is not over. There are some steps for me to take—something I know God wants me to do as I return: prayer, support of compassion, sponsorship, and the same gospel focus.

There is joy in ending this trip. Both Compassion & Elim have a wonderful, bright future with the leaders I spent time with. Their authentic, pastoral, determined, Spirit-filled posture excites me. Each of them has a place in our movement to bring the gift He has given to bless us all, and I can’t wait to see that unfold in the future.

I am thankful that despite the busyness that looked ahead, I didn’t say no. I am so glad I didn’t miss this. I am happy to see what God is doing in Kenya & in the UK church.

Asante Sana (Thank you so much).

Published by Jamie Lavery

I am Pentecostal Christian. Husband. Dad. Dog owner and Pastor of Elim Church Crawley. And this blog is some occasional thoughts about the Bible, Christian living, theology or church history, and probably a mixture of all.

One thought on “Asante Sana Compassion Kenya

  1. Thank you for sharing your of visit to Kenya, Jamie. What an amazing experience you appear to have had. I personally have never been to Kenya despite living in Africa for most of my life. However, I am aware of where there appears to be lack of basic requirements and opportunities, God is worshipped and praised in a magnificent way. Sadly we have too many distractions in the Western world. May God continue to use abd bless you.

Create a conversation. Leave a Reply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Paul Folland - living life with God

Connecting and reflecting on God and his word

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

BSSM 2nd Year Notes

A resource for 2nd year students at Bethel School of Supernatural Ministry.

Missional Communities Blog

story, challenge, inspiration...from the heart of the Missional Communities movement

Thinking to Believe

An Oasis for Thoughtful Christians

Real Christianity

Be doers of the word and not just hearers... James 1:22